Masha Gunic

Azantian Literary Agency

My Manuscript Wish List

Masha started her career in publishing as an intern at the Azantian Literary Agency and has since held internships at Red Fox Literary and Writers House before working as an Editorial Assistant at Abrams Books on the children's side for two years. Her love for books across genres, as well as her desire to find and foster great talent, drove her to make the transition from editorial back to the Azantian Literary Agency on the West Coast. Right now, Masha is only looking to acquire middle grade and young adult novels.

MIDDLE GRADE

I am excited to find middle grade novels across all genres. Bring on the adventure, the creepy, the spine-chilling horror, the historical, the imaginative, and the laugh-out-loud funny! I look for dramatic and funny middle grade books with a relatable voice and strong friendship and family themes. Brave or whimsical adventure novels are a sweet spot, especially those starring underdogs and antiheroes. I love fantasy in general, as well as heartbreaking contemporary fiction with exceptional character development. Some of my favorite middle grade books include THE LION OF MARS by Jennifer L. Holm, the KIRANMALA AND THE KINGDOM BEYOND series by Sayantani DasGupta, THE NEST by Kenneth Oppel, CATHERINE, CALLED BIRDY by Karen Cushman, THE ROYAL DIARIES series, and the GOOSEBUMPS series by R.L. Stine.

 

YOUNG ADULT

I'm drawn to exciting, high-concept and commercial young adult novels that keep me reading chapter after chapter until I'm all done and craving more, as well as unique literary works. I’m specifically searching for contemporary fiction, thrillers and mysteries with satisfying twists, historical fiction, fantasy, and magical realism, but I would also love to find a smart space opera or grounded science fiction project in the vein of INTERSTELLAR and ARRIVAL. Above all, I'm drawn to young adult novels with a strong voice, masterful writing, beautiful world-building with a vivid setting, and complex characters that are truly unforgettable. A few of my all-time favorite books include the CONFESSIONS OF GEORGIA NICOLSON series by Louise Rennison, ONE OF US IS LYING by Karen M. McManus, THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE by Cynthia Hand, SINCE YOU'VE BEEN GONE by Morgan Matson, CINDER by Marissa Meyer, the SANCTUARY series by Caryn Lix, THE WRATH & THE DAWN by Renée Ahdieh, THE WICKED DEEP by Shea Ernshaw, and LORE by Alexandra Bracken.


Fun facts about me:

I have a deep love for games, especially if they include labyrinths and escape rooms (though I'm not exactly the best at getting out).

Since I was a kid, I also wanted to be a detective or private investigator...so if I'm not reading, I'm most likely watching Investigation Discovery!

I can get bored of going to the gym pretty quickly, so I spend my time working out by taking barre classes, hiking, and playing volleyball, soccer, and tennis for fun. Variety if key!

I love love love food and am willing to try anything exotic and new.

I'm fascinated with astrophysics and find myself, more often that I would like, thinking about what else is out there.

Submission Guidelines

You can find her general guidelines and submission form here: http://www.azantianlitagency.com/submit.html


Guidelines & Details

Vital Info

Agent
Fiction: Middle Grade, Young Adult

Favorite sub-genres: Contemporary YA, Fantasy YA, Humor YA, Literary Middle Grade, MG Fantasy, MG adventure, Magical Realism YA, Science Fiction YA, contemporary MG
I'd like the next...

My favorites include...

TV Shows: Veronica Mars; Gilmore Girls; Breaking Bad; Buffy the Vampire Slayer; My So-Called Life; Game of Thrones; Stranger Things; Forensic Files; Dateline; The Cosmos

Films: Clueless; 10 Things I Hate About You; American Psycho; Donnie Darko; American History X; North by Northwest; Slumdog Millionaire; Brokeback Mountain; Requiem for a Dream; It Follows; Contact; Arrival; Interstellar

My Upcoming Events:

Search MSWL

How to use the search
 
Copyright © Manuscript Wish List - All Rights Reserved
Designed & Built by Atmosphere Websites | Boutique Author Website Design