Alison Romig

Delacorte Press/PRH

My Manuscript Wish List

Hello! My name is Ali, and I am an editor at Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books. I edit both YA and MG and am drawn to high concept plots with a literary bent.

In YA, I am always looking for witty rom coms with commercial set-ups, in the vein of authors like Casey McQuiston, Jennifer Dugan, Talia Hibbert, Jesse Q. Sutanto, and Kacen Calander. On the opposite end of the spectrum, I absolutely love horror—both pop-horror and more subversive styles or sweeping gothics. Elements of the fantastic, supernatural, or speculative fiction are always welcome! The only must in my horror is atmosphere—the setting should be transportive. I also enjoy fast-paced thrillers and “whodunits” that feel teen-focused—high school settings are encouraged.

As for middle grade, I will always love a humorous middle school friendship story. In addition, I love fairytale retellings, action-adventure, and puzzle mysteries. Wry, witty, gothic series, like Kiersten White’s Sinister Summer series are some of my favorites, as I grew up on A Series of Unfortunate Events. I also love MG horror—the truly spooky and the silly—and believe a solid ghost story can make a reader out of anyone.

I am always looking for BIPOC and LGBTQ+ voices, in every genre!

Submission Guidelines

I only accept agented submissions.

Vital Info

Editor
Fiction: Children's, Commercial, Fantasy, Horror, LGBTQ, Literary, Middle Grade, Mystery, New Adult, Romance, Thriller, Young Adult

Favorite sub-genres: Middle Grade, Young Adult
I'd like the next...

My favorites include...

MG/YA books: Wilder Girls by Rory Power, Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute by Talia Hibbert, A Lesson in Vengeance by Victoria Lee, Fire Keeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley, We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, Small Favors by Erin A. Craig, The Honeys by Ryan La Sala, Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz, You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson, Mine by Delilah S. Dawson, Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh, Wretched Waterpark by Kiersten White

TV Shows: A League of Their Own, Yellowjackets, Abbott Elementary, Los Espookys, The Wilds, Heartstopper, Dickinson, Hacks, Euphoria (season one), My So-Called Life

My Upcoming Events:

Search MSWL

How to use the search
 
Copyright © Manuscript Wish List - All Rights Reserved
Designed & Built by Atmosphere Websites | Boutique Author Website Design