Elizabeth Copps

Elizabeth Copps

Maria Carvainis Agency, Inc.

My Manuscript Wish List

I migrated from Florida to start my career with Maria Carvainis Agency as an intern in 2010. In 2011 I signed on with the agency as a full-time assistant, and two years later I moved to Associate Agent. I represent a wide range of genres from MG and YA, to adult contemporary + literary fiction, mystery, psychological thriller, women’s fiction, historical fiction, horror, and select nonfiction projects. I’m an equal fan of hilarious stories as well as dark, gritty and sinister reads.

For me, the very best books are timeless, thought provoking, and discussion spurring. I want to see characters who burst off the page and elicit some sort of emotional response in their readers. There are only so many settings and themes to expound on, but every single person is different which means there are limitless combinations of character traits a writer can play with. That’s pretty amazing. The King said it best regarding what it means to create a complex character: “Bad writing usually arises from a stubborn refusal to tell stories about what people actually do―to face the fact, let us say, that murderers sometimes help old ladies cross the street.”


Fun facts about me:

 

 

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to mca@mariacarvainisagency.com

Please visit http://www.mariacarvainisagency.com/submissions/for full submission guidelines and policies.

Please email query letters to mca@mariacarvainisagency.com. All attachments must be either Word documents or PDF files.

The agency does not represent screenplays, science fiction, picture books or poetry.

 


Guidelines & Details

Vital Info

Fiction: Action/Adventure, Children's, Commercial, Family Saga, Historical, Horror, Humor, LGBTQ, Literary, Middle Grade, Mystery, Thriller, Women’s Fiction, Young Adult

Favorite sub-genres:
I’d like the next…
  • Modern fairytale with the creativity and wisdom of Neil Gaiman or Helen Oyeyemi. Or, a contemporary retelling of a classic novel.
  • Ode to strong female friendships a la Elena Ferrante. Or Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants on the YA side…
  • Smart, sassy, scary, sarcastic, scintillating heroine in the vein of Arya Stark, Hermione Granger, Judith Rashleigh, Katniss Everdeen, Sarah Manning, or Zoe Washburn.
  • Upmarket psychological thriller (think Mystic River, The Silence of the Lambs, Rebecca)

My favorites include…

Books

  • Adult: Bel Canto, Five Quarters of the Orange, House of Sand and Fog, Mama Day, Shawshank Redemption, The Absolutist, The Green Mile,  The Night Circus, The Shadow of the Wind, Never Let Me Go, Unaccustomed Earth, White Oleander
  • YA & MG:  A Wrinkle in Time, Eleanor And Park, Ella Enchanted, Matilda, Raymie Nightingale, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, The Book Thief, The House on Mango Street

TV

I love character driven shows with dark, irreverent, or smart humor and dialogue. Absolute favorites would be Game of Thrones, Shameless, Gilmore Girls, Bob’s Burgers, Bojack Horseman, The Office, and Parks and Rec.

Movies

Give me all the feels, give me all the laughs, and give me the opportunity to live vicariously in 19th Century England.  Favorites include Shawshank Redemption, Hot Fuzz, Love Actually, Kill Bill, Moonrise Kingdom, and Pan’s Labyrinth. I’m a sucker for any and all British period pieces.

 

My Upcoming Events: