Alison Weiss

Alison Weiss

Sky Pony Press

My Manuscript Wish List

I’ve always had varied tastes when it comes to reading, and I think that’s reflected in the types of projects I take on. I’m looking for the great trifecta–stand-out characters, engaging plot, and a killer voice. I love most those manuscripts that change my perspective on the world when I’m done reading.

Perpetually on wishlist:

  • Middle grade with a classic feel, contemporary resonance and tons of heart. Think The Penderwicks, Savvy, Circus Mirandus, or Everything on a Waffle.
  • Sweeping Southern Gothic. Paricularly with lots of romance.
  • YA sleuthing couple inspired by the Golden Age mysteries in the vein of Nick and Nora, Harriet and Lord Peter Wimsey, or Tommy and Tuppence.
  • Spy/secret agent/con novels. This can be YA like Ally Carter or middle grade like Stuart Gibbs. Just get me into the criminal mindset.
  • Magical realism – MG or YA.
  • Distinct setting-rich stories where place is almost a character.
  • Interestingly designed projects that combine media or means of storytelling

Currently seeking:

  • #ownvoices Space Race book or the like in the vein of Hidden Figures
  • A teen Outlander.
  • A teen Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell.
  • A crazy psychological story of obsession in the vein of Whiplash.

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to skyponysubmissions@skyhorsepublishing.com

Please note that Alison only works on children’s/YA.

To submit a manuscript or proposal to Sky Pony, please send an email to skyponysubmissions@skyhorsepublishing.com.

Attach all material as Word documents—or as a jpeg if art is involved. Include relevant information about yourself, a summary of your project, your publishing history (if any), any relevant associations you have, and, for informational books, your qualifications as an expert in your subject area.

Please note: do not mail hard copies to our office unless requested. Unrequested hard copies will be returned unopened.

Vital Info

Editor
Fiction: Children's, Young Adult

Favorite sub-genres: Contemporary YA, Diversity, Historical Fiction, Literary Middle Grade, Magical Realism, Multiple POV, Speculative Fiction, Steampunk
I’d like the next…

My favorites include…

My Upcoming Events: