Tricja Okuniewska

Putnam

My Manuscript Wish List

I am only accepting agented submissions at this time!

My list is all fiction at the moment! I'm looking for commercial contemporary and historical adult fiction with strong voice, emotional writing, characters you desperately wish were real, atmospheric settings, and a healthy dose of romance. I'm always on the hunt for feel-good fiction with relatable female narrators, fun and escapist rom-coms, and immersive historical fiction.

I'd love to find a high concept love story that poses a compelling "what if" question a la Josie Silver, Colleen Oakley, or Sophie Cousens. In the rom-com space, I'm drawn to fresh, diverse, and snarky voices, classic tropes with a twist, unconventional heroes/heroines, fun settings, and holiday stories. Voicey, millennial fiction is something I'm always searching for, too (think Abbi Waxman)! I also love stories with multi-generational casts of character, so I’d like to find something in the vein of Kristan Higgins or Lori Nelson Spielman.

On the historical fiction front, I love a good female spy novel, and some other recent favorites are The Paris Hours, The Jane Austen Society and An Unlikely Spy. I'm also keen to find untold stories of history or the history we all know so well, but told through a perspective or a voice not yet heard--something like Fifty Words for Rain, Library of Legends, or Chanel Cleeton's novels. Other eras that I’d love to see stories set in are the Cold War, the Gilded Age, and the Civil War/post-Civil War era.

On the completely opposite side of the spectrum, I'd love to find a gothic horror novel or a horror that can sit in the thriller space as well, something in the vein of The Whisper Man, The Only Good Indians, or The Year of the Witching.

I want books you can devour in one sitting that you need to talk about/share with other people immediately after finishing. If there are rich descriptions of nature of strokes of magical realism/whimsy, that is most welcome!


Fun facts about me:

I'm a born and bred New Yorker.

My family is from Poland, so I am bilingual and went to Polish school growing up (yes, that's a thing)!

I spent a semester in Copenhagen, and have a love for all things Scandinavian.

I like to dabble in crafting of all kinds! I have developed an obsession with ceramics and pottery lately.

 

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to pokuniewska@penguinrandomhouse.com

Submissions should be emailed to pokuniewska@penguinrandomhouse.com

Vital Info

Agent
Fiction: Commercial, Historical, Horror, Romance, Women’s Fiction

Favorite sub-genres:
I'd like the next...

In Five Years, Beach Read, The Bromance Book Club, Fifty Words for Rain, The Alice Network, Outlander, "Lupin", "Chilling Adventures of Sabrina" (an adult version), The Paris Library, The Country Baker's Guide to City Living


My favorites include...

Little Women, The Song of Achilles, The Hating Game, The Roommate, The Marriage Game, The Alice Network, Ninth House, The Kiss Quotient, The Secrets We Kept, Migrations, Final Girls, "Gilmore Girls", The Shadow of the Wind, "Never Have I Ever", "Outlander"

My Upcoming Events:

Search MSWL

How to use the search
 
Copyright © Manuscript Wish List - All Rights Reserved
Designed & Built by Atmosphere Websites | Boutique Author Website Design