Samantha Wekstein

Thompson Literary Agency

My Manuscript Wish List

Samantha Wekstein grew up in Westchester, NY. She attended the University of Maryland,College Park and received a B.A. in English. Go Terps! She now lives in NYC with her husband and dog. After internships with Sarah Jane Freymann Literary Agency and Rowman & Littlefield, she began her career in 2013 at Writers House LLC. She then briefly worked as an assistant at The Agency Group (now UTA) before returning to Writers House for the next 5 years where she began supporting the CEO, and then the Founder, before becoming an agent. She’s been lucky to work with a variety of best-selling and award-winning authors across all genres. She joined TLA in 2019 where she’s excited to grow her list.

In YA, she loves creative and epic fantasies in the vein of Sarah J. Maas or Leigh Bardugo. But she is also drawn to realistic stories with multi-dimensional female characters like those of Jenny Han, Julie Murphy and Melina Marchetta. She is always interested in elevating diverse voices, particularly through feminist narratives.

She is seeking middle grade of all stripes, but especially stories that deal with themes of friendship, adventure, or encountering tragedy for the first time. Her favorites are Sharon Creech, Shannon Hale, and Gail Carson Levine.

She is also on the lookout for whimsical, meaningful, and funny picture books by author/illustrators. ***Please do not send text-only projects.*** Here's a website for her illustrators: https://wekstein-illustrators.weebly.com/
Some favorites include: DON'T LET THE PIGEON DRIVE THE BUS, I WANT MY HAT BACK, DRAGONS LOVE TACOS, THE DAY THE CRAYONS QUIT, and HAIR LOVE.

On the adult side she is drawn to commercial voices in Romance, Women’s Fiction, Sci-Fi and Fantasy. She'd love to find Historical Fiction that focuses on female or queer perspectives and is particularly interested in non-European settings.

In nonfiction, she's open to humor, pop culture, history, social justice, and anything feminist.

Please do NOT send her literary fiction, stories featuring angels/devils from biblical mythology, adult thrillers (or anything that can be described as "hardboiled"), crime, mystery, suspense (even the romantic kind), picture books about Christmas/Santa, and works with themes of suicide or drug addiction as the main focus.

Thompson Literary LLC was formed in 2014 by Meg Thompson. In this exciting new venture, Meg and her colleagues will continue to be attentive to their clients’ needs for the life of their books, from developing ideas and editing manuscripts, to placing books with the best publishers, to working with the publisher on all aspects of a project, including editorial, design, marketing, publicity, and sales.

**Please peruse my Twitter page before sending me a submission. I update it regularly with query tips and special requests.** https://twitter.com/SWekstein

Some projects:
The Do-Gooder by Jessie L. Star (Pocket/S&S)
Cake at Midnight by Jessie L. Star (Pocket/S&S)
The Seventh Sun by Lani Forbes(Blackstone)
The Jade Bones by Lani Forbes (Blackstone)
The Obsidian Butterfly by Lani Forbes (Blackstone)
The Big Sibling Getaway by Korrie Leer (Albert Whitman)
Zoo-Mate Wanted by Korrie Leer (Albert Whitman)
The Exceptional Maggie Chowder by Renee B. Lute (Albert Whitman)
World In Between by Kenan Trebincevic and Susan Shapiro (Clarion/HMH)
The Forgiveness Tour by Susan Shapiro (Skyhorse)
The Book Bible by Susan Shapiro (Skyhorse)
Your Mind Makes Thoughts Like Your Butt Makes Farts by Todd Strauss-Schulson (illustrator Phil McAndrew) (Wisdom)
The Last Tamale by Orlando Mendiola (Harpercollins)
Peg Gets Crackin' by Jo Renfro (Beaming Books)
Face the Night by Lani Forbes (Blackstone)
Forever Journal by Ashley Sirah Chea (Clarkson Potter/PRH)


Fun facts about me:

I love musical theatre, trivia, dogs and 90's inspirational sports movies.

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to https://QueryManager.com/SamanthaWekstein

I will be closed to queries from 11/1/22-1/1/23.

Please fill out my Query Manager form. You'll be required to submit a query letter and your first 10 pages as an attachment. If you're submitting a picture book, please include illustrations.

https://QueryManager.com/SamanthaWekstein


Guidelines & Details

Consultations

Listen To My Podcast InterviewSchedule A Query Consultation

Vital Info

Agent
Fiction: Action/Adventure, Children's, Family Saga, Fantasy, General, Graphic Novel, Historical, Humor, LGBTQ, Middle Grade, New Adult, Picture Books, Romance, Science Fiction, Women’s Fiction, Young Adult
Non-Fiction: Humor, Pop Culture

Favorite sub-genres:
I'd like the next...

Story with a strong voice, a unique world/setting, an ambitious structure (think Slaughterhouse 5), or a creative fairy tale retelling.

 


My favorites include...
Authors:
Sarah J. Maas
Susan Dennard
Alex Bracken
Rae Carson
Leigh Bardugo
Melina Marchetta
Sharon Creech
Gail Carson Levine
Shannon Hale
Moira Young
Marie Rutkowski
Sarah Rees Brennan
Christina Lauren
Casey McQuiston
Holly Black
Jenny Han
Sally Thorne
Naomi Novik
Xiran Jay Zhao
TV Shows:
The 100
Gilmore Girls
Boy Meets World
Stranger Things
Avatar the Last Airbender
Greek
Community
Jane the Virgin
Boys Over Flowers
Shining Inheritance
Game of Thrones
Dawson's Creek
Parks and Rec
The West Wing
Dance Academy
On My Block
The Society
Never Have I Ever
The Witcher
Movies:
The Princess Bride
Clueless
When Harry Met Sally
Matilda
A Little Princess
The Sandlot
Back to the Future
American Pie
Star Wars
Singing in the Rain
Black Panther

My Upcoming Events:

Search MSWL

How to use the search
 
Copyright © Manuscript Wish List - All Rights Reserved
Designed & Built by Atmosphere Websites | Boutique Author Website Design