Pam Gruber

Irene Goodman Literary Agency

My Manuscript Wish List

After 10+ years as an editor and editorial director, Pam Gruber became a literary agent at Irene Goodman Literary Agency. Her favorite part of the publishing business is working directly with authors and artists, helping them to shape not only their stories, but also their careers.

She is on the hunt for adult, young adult, and middle grade fiction with literary voices and commercial concepts. Her taste in adult fiction is broad--contemporary, fiction, historical, fantasy, spec fic, and fantastical realism all appeal--but she is most captivated by a strong voice and a good hook. Recent favorite reads include The Interestings, A Gentleman in Moscow, Nothing to See Here, The Power, and the Broken Earth Trilogy. In middle grade, she particularly loves layered, literary fantasy like The Girl Who Drank the Moon or the His Dark Materials series. In teen, she gravitates towards contemporary coming-of-age stories filled with hope, feminist themes, and grounded fantasies with fresh plots. She also has experience working on middle grade and YA graphic novels, and would love to see more of those in her query inbox. 

As for nonfiction, Pam always appreciates learning something new through a manuscript, especially as it sheds light on the human condition. Over the years, some favorite nonfiction reads have included Devil in the White City, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Educated, and Furious Hours. She is also interested in middle grade and YA graphic novel memoirs. 

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to pam.queries@irenegoodman.com

Please send your query letter along with the first ten pages of your manuscript, a brief synopsis, and your bio in the body of the email.


Guidelines & Details

Vital Info

Agent
Fiction: Children's, Commercial, Family Saga, Fantasy, Graphic Novel, Literary, Middle Grade, Women’s Fiction, Young Adult
Non-Fiction: History, Humor, LGBTQ, Memoir, True Crime

Favorite sub-genres:
I'd like the next...

...poignant, yet absurdist premise of Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson

...literary, feminist voice like Carmen Maria Machado

...wholly original, yet classic-feeling fantasy a la 10,000 Doors of January by Alix Harrow or Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

...delightfully intersectional YA exploring love and friendship in the vein of Netflix’s The Half of It or Sarah Watson’s Most Likely 

...atmospheric middle grade adventure with the spirit of a Studio Ghibli movie or The Girl Who Drank the Moon

...realistic and relatable graphic novel (or graphic novel memoir) like Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson or Spinning by Tillie Walden


My favorites include...

My Upcoming Events:

Search MSWL

How to use the search
 
Copyright © Manuscript Wish List - All Rights Reserved
Designed & Built by Atmosphere Websites | Boutique Author Website Design