Samantha Wekstein

Samantha Wekstein

Writers House LLC

My Manuscript Wish List

Samantha graduated from the University of Maryland with a B.A. in English. Before becoming a Junior Agent at Writers House, she was the assistant to CEO, Amy Berkower and then to founder, Al Zuckerman. She also briefly worked as an assistant at The Agency Group.

Her passion in publishing is YA fiction. She loves creative and epic fantasies in the vein of Sarah J. Maas or Leigh Bardugo. But she is also drawn to contemporary YA with multi-dimensional female characters like those of Rainbow Rowell, Julie Murphy and Melina Marchetta.

She also loves middle grade of any kind, but especially books that deal with themes of friendship, adventure, or encountering tragedy for the first time. Her favorites are Sharon Creech and Gail Carson Levine.

She does not want to receive text-only picture book submissions.  She will only review author/illustrator combinations.  And please remember that picture books don’t only serve to teach a lesson or entertain, but must tell a story.

For adult fiction, Samantha is looking for historical, romance, women’s fiction, fantasy, and sci-fi.

She doesn’t have a huge interest in nonfiction, but is open to humor, and pop culture.

Please do not send her literary fiction.

 


Fun facts about me:

I love musical theatre, trivia, dogs and 90’s inspirational sports movies.

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to swekstein@writershouse.com

Please submit a query letter in the body of your email with the first chapter as an attachment to swekstein@writershouse.com.  Please include the word “Query” in the subject line.

Vital Info

Agent
Fiction: Children's, Fantasy, Historical, Humor, Middle Grade, New Adult, Romance, Science Fiction, Women’s Fiction, Young Adult
Non-Fiction: Humor, Pop Culture

Favorite sub-genres:
I’d like the next…

Story with a strong voice, a unique world/setting, an ambitious structure (think Slaughterhouse 5), or a creative fairy tale retelling.

 


My favorites include…
Authors:
Sarah J. Maas
J.K. Rowling
Susan Dennard
Alex Bracken
Rae Carson
Leigh Bardugo
Melina Marchetta
Sharon Creech
Gail Carson Levine
Shannon Hale
Moira Young
TV Shows:
The 100
Gilmore Girls
Boy Meets World
Stranger Things
IZombie
Avatar the Last Airbender
Greek
Community
Movies:
The Princess Bride
Clueless
When Harry Met Sally
Matilda
A Little Princess
The Sandlot
Back to the Future
American Pie
Star Wars
Singing in the Rain

My Upcoming Events: