Mora Couch

Mora Couch

Holiday House Publishing, Inc.

My Manuscript Wish List

I love high-concept science fiction and fantasy, with lush, well-built worlds, emotionally resonant characters, interesting themes, and forward-driving plots. I’m also a big fan of historical fiction, and I have a real soft spot for animal fantasy! I like both literary and commercial writing, as well as projects that walk that line.

Contemporary is less my thing, but a knockout story will win me over, particularly an #ownvoices project.

I’m also looking for graphic novels and scripts for graphic novels.

A few things I’m wishing for:

* Projects that focus on underrepresented people and voices: non-Western fantasy, non-Western/diverse historical fiction (I’d love a YA Marlon James or a YA Nick Drake), inclusive contemporary stories

* An intense, original mermaid story

* Sweeping, romantic, emotionally compelling high fantasy… with a twist

* Science fantasy of all kinds (I have a weakness for space opera)

* Graphic fiction that is fresh and meaningful

* Character-driven sci-fi, especially sci-fi focusing on AI, biotech, cloning, or space colonization/exploration

* Scary MG ghost stories!

* Excellent animal fantasy

I am not looking for picture books or easy readers. I’m also not the best fit for wacky comedy or light-hearted mystery.

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to mcouch@holidayhouse.com

Please put #MSWL in the subject line, and include a query letter and short summary in addition to the manuscript.

Vital Info

Editor
Fiction: Children's, Middle Grade, Young Adult

Favorite sub-genres: High Fantasy, Historical Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Space Opera, Speculative Fiction, afrofuturism, alternate history, medpunk, non-Western fantasy, non-Western historical fiction, science fantasy, science fiction, seapunk
I’d like the next…

* The next CATHERINE, CALLED BIRDY or FEVER 1793.

* The next David Clement-Davies, M.I. McAllister, or Kathryn Lasky.

* MOON, EX MACHINA, WINTER’S BONE, LADYHAWKE, GET OUT or GLADIATOR for teens.

* A cutting-edge fantasy novel in the vein of Kendare Blake, Catherine Fisher, Renée Ahdieh, or Rae Carson.


My favorites include…

Catherine Fisher, INCARCERON

Renée Ahdieh, THE WRATH AND THE DAWN

Rachel Hartman, SERAPHINA

S. J. Kincaid, THE DIABOLIC

Paolo Bacigalupi, SHIPBREAKER

Daniel José Older, SHADOWSHAPER

Angie Thomas, THE HATE U GIVE

Gregory Scott Katsoulis, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Rae Carson’s Fire and Thorns series

Kathryn Lasky’s Guardians of Ga’Hoole series

Jeanne DuPrau’s Books of Ember

Lloyd Alexander, TIME CAT

Donna Jo Napoli, SIRENA

My Upcoming Events: