Lauren Spieller

Lauren Spieller

TriadaUS Literary AGency

My Manuscript Wish List

Lauren is seeking Middle Grade and Young Adult fiction, as well as commercial Adult fiction and non-fiction.

In MG, she’s drawn to heartfelt contemporaries, contemporary fantasy and magical realism, and exciting adventures. Some of her recent favorites are Rules for Stealing Stars, George, The Thing About Jellyfish, Wonder, Hour of the Bees, and Rooftoppers.

In YA, she’d love to find authentic teen voices in any and all genres. She is especially fond of fantasy, magical realism, and space operas; contemporary stories with a hook; and anything with a feminist bent. A few favorites include Dumplin’, OCD Love Story, Scorpio Races, Feed, An Ember in the Ashes, Six of Crows, and Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda.

In Adult, Lauren is seeking commercial fiction, particularly twisted, female-driven psychological thrillers in the vein of Lauren Beukes and Gillian Flynn, and immersive literary fantasies like The Night Circus. She is also interested in upmarket Women’s Fiction (especially if it’s funny or involves a touch of magical realism!) and unique non-fiction with an existing platform. In particular, she’d love to see counter culture books, cocktail/coffee books with a twist/theme, and fun pop-culture projects. An existing platform is a MUST.

Whatever the age category or genre, Lauren is passionate about representing #ownvoices.

For a visual manuscript wishlist, visit her MSWL Pinterest page!


Fun facts about me:

I’ve lived in four states: California, Illinois, Indiana, and New York.

I LOVE dogs, but I’m allergic to them. That doesn’t stop me from snuggling them!

 

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to lauren@triadaus.com

Please send a query letter and your first ten pages to lauren@triadaus.com, an include the word QUERY in the email’s subject line. Bonus points for personalization! Links to your Twitter and blog are also welcome. 


Guidelines & Details

Vital Info

Agent
Fiction: Action/Adventure, Children's, Fantasy, Graphic Novel, Horror, Humor, LGBTQ, Literary, Middle Grade, Picture Books, Science Fiction, Thriller, Women’s Fiction, Young Adult
Non-Fiction: Cookbooks, Crafts/DIY, LGBTQ, Pop Culture

Favorite sub-genres:
I’d like the next…

I’d love the next #ownvoices, character-driven Middle Grade, especially if it involves a sister relationship, magical realism, or BOTH. I’d also love to see unique friendships and/or families, girls that love science/boys that love the arts, and a world that sweeps me off my feet. In YA, I want the next THE RAVEN BOYS, especially if it has a female friendship at the core. I’m also craving fantasies set in non-European countries, written by #ownvoices writers.

In Non-fiction: if you’re the next Lindsey West, Roxanne Gay, or Lauren Duca, I want to hear from you.


My favorites include…

Books: Rules for Stealing Stars, George, My Seventh-Grade Life In Tights, The Seventh Wish, RooftoppersDumplin’, Scorpio Races, Since You’ve Been Gone, Feed, Six of Crows, Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda, The Ember in the Ashes, Harry PotterThe Night Circus, The Miniaturist, The Rook, A Darker Shade of Magic, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, The Miniaturist, Sharp Objects, Broken Monsters, Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, and The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake.

Movies & TV: The Fall, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Bojack Horseman, Sherlock, Bob’s Burgers, Archer, Firefly/Serenity, Broadcity, Broadchurch, Empire Records, Ratatouille, Harry Potter(s), Max Max Fury Road, Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, Doctor Who (especially Ten’s episodes) Star Wars (the originals, and The Force Awakens), Star Trek (the new ones in particular), Bridget Jones Diary, UnReal, The Princess Bride, and Stranger Things.

My Upcoming Events: