Hillary Jacobson

Hillary Jacobson

ICM Partners

My Manuscript Wish List

I am actively building a list consisting of commercial and literary fiction, YA, some middle grade, as well as narrative non-fiction and memoir. I am particularly interested in high-concept YA, upmarket fiction and psychological thrillers. I love being immersed in other cultures and am always looking for diverse perspectives and settings.

More specifically, I want:

  • Truly shocking psychological suspense in the vein of I LET YOU GO or BEHIND HER EYES…there’s nothing I like more than a good twist
  • “Secrets & Lies” novels. Think Liane Moriarty or Miranda Beverly-Whittemore’s BITTERSWEET
  •  Even better, “secrets & lies” novels told from diverse perspectives or in interesting settings, like THE EXPATRIATES, LITTLE FIRES EVERYWHERE, THE MOTHERS, BEHOLD THE DREAMERS or STAY WITH ME
  • YA that subverts the tropes of the genre
  • Incredibly inventive and distinctive world-building in YA like in THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR, PASSENGER or WARCROSS
  • Middle Grade Fantasy
  • Memoirs that read like tightly plotted and suspenseful fiction a la BRAIN ON FIRE, HOUSE IN THE SKY or THE FACT OF A BODY
  • Speculative fiction that features a world like ours, but with a twist, like STATION ELEVEN, THE AGE OF MIRACLES, or NEVER LET ME GO
  • #ownvoices!
  • Anything that promotes, analyzes, or incorporates feminism

But sometimes I surprise myself with what I fall in love with, so please do query me even if your manuscript falls outside these guidelines!

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to hjacobson@icmpartners.com

Please send me your pitch and the first ten pages of your manuscript in the body of an email. I respond to every query, hopefully within about a month or so.

Vital Info

Agent
Fiction: Children's, Commercial, Family Saga, General, Graphic Novel, Humor, Literary, Mystery, Science Fiction, Thriller, Women’s Fiction, Young Adult
Non-Fiction: History, Journalism, Memoir, Science, Travel, True Crime

Favorite sub-genres: Feminism, Historical Fantasy, Humor, Magical Realism, Multicultural, Narrative Nonfiction, Speculative Fiction, Suspense
I’d like the next…

My favorites include…
  • THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE by Audrey Niffenegger
  • ELSEWHERE by Gabrielle Zevin
  • HOMEGOING by Yaa Gyasi
  • THE ORPHAN MASTER’S SON by Adam Johnson
  • IT’S WHAT I DO: A PHOTOGRAPHER’S LIFE OF LOVE AND WAR by Lynsey Addario
  • READY PLAYER ONE by Ernest Cline
  • THE GOLEM AND THE JINNI by Helene Wecker
  • BEAUTY QUEENS by Libba Bray
  • AMERICANAH by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

My Upcoming Events: