Claire Friedman

Claire Friedman

InkWell Management

My Manuscript Wish List

I joined InkWell in 2016, after graduating from Columbia University with degrees in English and history. Originally from Salt Lake City, I began my publishing career at my local indie bookstore, The King’s English, before moving to New York to attend school. Prior to joining InkWell, I interned at Don Congdon Associates, Macmillan, and Time Inc.

I’m looking for smart, literary YA with a bite. Anything a little edgy, a little dark, or a little weird has my name written all over it. I love fantasy and sci-fi, but I can also sink my teeth into stand-out contemporary work — as long as the voice is strong, the genre doesn’t matter to me. In the middle grade space, I’m looking for witty, unexpected books in the vein of Pseudonymous Bosch or Lemony Snickett.

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should be emailed to submissions@inkwellmanagement.com

Queries should be emailed to: submissions@inkwellmanagement.com

In the body of your email, please include a query letter and a short writing sample (1-2 chapters) and address the email to me either at the beginning of the e-mail, or put it at my attention in the subject line.


Guidelines & Details

Vital Info

Agent
Fiction: Action/Adventure, Children's, Crime, Family Saga, Fantasy, General, Graphic Novel, Historical, Horror, LGBTQ, Literary, Middle Grade, Science Fiction, Thriller, Women’s Fiction, Young Adult

Favorite sub-genres:
I’d like the next…

My favorites include…

In no particular order… Neil Gaiman, Megan Abbott, V.E. Schwab, Leigh Bardugo, N.K. Jemisin, Mark Danielewski, Karen Russell, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor, China Mieville, Libba Bray, A.S. King, Mariko Tamaki, Jeff Vandemeer, Nicola Yoon, Cornelia Funke, Shannon Hale, Rebecca Stead, and many more!

My Upcoming Events: